Sleep paralysis – An interaction with the Supernatural

I used to make fun of people when they narrate ghost stories to me and I used to say like, “What age are you living in? Ghosts don’t exist! Stop fooling yourselves!” But one day, I had to acknowledge their existence and cursed myself for my ignorance.

Let me share my experience…

It happened to me long back but I still remember that horrible incident. I was having a good sleep that night. The room was dark and silent. I was probably dreaming about cricket, college and friends. Suddenly I felt a gust of air and a beam of light on my face. My bed is beside a window. I opened my eyes thinking that someone switched on lights in the other room. All of a sudden, some dark figure rushed towards me with lightning speed from that window and sat on my belly! It closed my mouth with full force. I thought it was some freaking dream and I tried to wake up from that. But I couldn’t.. Coz I’m not dreaming!! I felt everything…Every fucking thing!! It scared the hell out of me! I was choking! I tried to wake my mom who was sleeping beside me but my hands weren’t moving!! My entire body was paralyzed. I couldn’t get that thing off me!! All I could do is pray! I prayed to god, pleaded that demon that I don’t want to die so young! After a brief moment, I got that thing off. Window closed..wind stopped..lights off.. I regained my senses.. I got off my bed and thanked god for saving me. I woke up my mom and told her what I went through in the past minute or so. My typical Indian mom gave her lecture in the middle of night.
“That’s why I asked you not to play in that ground next to cemetery! You never listen to me and thinks I’m so dumb to believe in such things and babas! Now where is your science?! I will kick you if you play there again!”
I was literally dumbstruck! Couldn’t say a word against her belief that time!
She brought some nice amount of ash from the praying room and rubbed it on forehead and told me that everything will be fine now!
I was shocked, confused and frightened! I just couldn’t believe what just happened! I never criticised people talking about ghosts from then. I joined them instead and shared my experience.
The sceptical side of me wanted to see that thing again whereas the other side of me didn’t want to go through that shit again!

After few years I saw a picture somewhere just like the situation I’ve been through. A quick googling said that is “Sleep paralysis” and it is believed to be a result of disrupted REM sleep. Sleep paralysis occurs either when falling asleep, or when awakening. When it occurs upon falling asleep, the person remains aware while the body shuts down for REM sleep, and it is called hypnagogic or predormital sleep paralysis. When it occurs upon awakening, the person becomes aware before the REM cycle is complete, and it is called hypnopompic or postdormital.
Hypnagogic and hypnopompic hallucinations are symptoms commonly experienced during episodes of sleep paralysis. Some scientists have proposed this condition as an explanation for reports of alien abductions and ghostly encounters.
Many people that experience sleep paralysis are struck with a deep sense of terror, because they sense a menacing presence in the room while paralyzed—hereafter referred to as the intruder. This phenomenon is believed to be the result of a hyper vigilant state created in the midbrain. More specifically, the emergency response activates in the brain when individuals wake up paralyzed and feel vulnerable to attack. This helplessness can intensify the effects of the threat response well above the level typical to normal dreams; this could explain why hallucinations during sleep paralysis are so vivid. Normally the threat activated vigilance system is a protective mechanism the body uses to differentiate between dangerous situations and determine whether the fear response is appropriate. This threat vigilance system is evolutionarily biased to interpret ambiguous stimuli as dangerous, because “erring on the side of caution” increases survival chances. This could explain why those who experience sleep paralysis generally believe the presence they sense is evil.

Phew!
Ghosts don’t exist after all!!
Ehehehe Scooby dooby dooo…

You never know true fear until you experience sleep paralysis!! B-)

Leave a Reply

